On 1st December 2018, the school transferred to the Midsomer Norton Schools Partnership. It retains a Local Governing Body.


The Ann Harris Academy Trust

On 1st December 2013, the conversion process to an Academy was successfully completed.  The Trust formed to take overall responsibility for the school is the Ann Harris Academy Trust, named in honour of the school’s original benefactor.

The Directors of the Trust are:

Mr. Anthony Daniels (Chair of Directors) (Nominated by PCC)

Mrs. Linda Broadhurst (Vice-Chair of Directors), (Nominated by PCC)

Mrs. Claire Mirams (Headteacher)


Mr. Jason Brown (Responsible Officer) (Resigned November 2016)

Mrs. Kay Harvey (Nominated by Ann Harris Trust) (Resigned June 2017)

The responsibilities of the Directors include the long-term strategic direction of the Academy, monitoring academic progress and admissions.

The Governing Body

 The school also has a Governing Body which consists of the Directors of the Ann Harris Academy Trust (as above), plus Governors appointed by the Directors, elected parents and an elected member of staff.

Members of the Governing Body are:

Mrs. Caroline Bennett, appointed by Directors

Mrs.  Nicole Bradley, Elected Staff Governor

       Mrs. Natalie Colbourne, appointed by Directors

Mr. Anthony Daniels, Director (Safeguarding)

Mr. Mark Harris, appointed by Directors (Chair of the Governing Body)

Mrs. Claire Mirams (Headteacher)

Mrs. Abigail Powell,  appointed by Directors

       Mr. Steven Smith, Elected Parent Governor

Mrs. Jayla Wilcox, Elected Parent Governor


Mrs. Nicola Vause, appointed by Directors (resigned May 2016)

Mr. Michael Cleaves, appointed by Directors (resigned July 2016)

Mrs. Vanessa Janes, Elected Parent Governor (resigned September 2016)

Mr. Jason Brown, Director (resigned November 2016

Mrs. Kay Harvey, Director (resigned June 2017)

        Revd. Guy Yeomans, appointed by Directors (resigned July 2017)

Mr. Michael Evans, appointed by Directors (resigned August 2017)

Mrs. Kelly Copeman, Elected Parent Governor (resigned)

Mr. Colin Tincknell, appointed by Directors (resigned August 2018)

The Full Governing Body meets a minimum of six times per academic year (once per term) and all Governors are also members of at least one sub-committee which meet throughout the year. Additionally Governors have specific areas of responsibility and these include Health & Safety, SEN, Pupil Premium, Safeguarding and Subject areas. Governors work closely with the Headteacher, the Senior Leadership Team, Subject Leaders and the School Business Manager.

Recent minutes of meetings of the Full Governing Body are available to read and a folder of these is located in the school main foyer area.


Resources Committee:  

Mrs. Wilcox (Committee Chair), Mrs. Colbourne, Mr. Harris, Mrs. Mirams and Mr. Smith

Responsibilities include the monitoring and review of financial management, property, personnel and urgent issues.

Strategic Improvement and Standards Committee

Mr. Daniels (Committee Chair), plus all Governors.

Responsibilities include the review of academic progress and the School Improvement Plan and curriculum issues.  All Governors are invited to attend these committee meetings.

Contacting the Governors:

Correspondence to the Governing Body should be marked for the attention of the Clerk to the Governing Body, c/o The School Office, or e-mailed to:

Correspondence relating to safeguarding may be e-mailed to:


The Ann Harris Academy Trust

Company No: 8741949

The Members of the Trust are:

Bath & Wells DBE  Trust

Two individuals appointed by DBE nominated by PCC:  Mr. Anthony Daniels & Mrs. Linda Broadhurst

One individual appointed by Ann Harris Trust: Mrs. Kay Harvey


Registered Office:

St. John’s C of E Primary School
Redfield Road
Midsomer Norton
Radstock BA3 2JN